- BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH -

In the Matter of the Termination of Electric DOCKET NO. 09-035-96

)
)
Service Where Life Support Equipment is )
)
)

Used: Don and Peggy Baker REPORT AND ORDER

ISSUED: November 5, 2009

By The Commission:

THIS MATTER is before the Commission on the petitioner’s, ROCKY
MOUNTAIN POWER (Company), petition to terminate service for DON AND PEGGY
BAKER (Respondents). No hearing was held in this matter. On September 1, 2009, the
Division of Public Utilities (Division) sent a certified letter to the respondents informing them
they had until September 11, 2009 to file a protest or request a hearing with the Commission.
On September 7, 2009 the respondents entered into a payment plan to satisfy the arrearage. The
total balance at set-up is $722.96. The respondents have agreed to pay the balance off in eleven
payments. The plan includes a down payment of $62.00 with a minimum of $60.00 plus the
current bill due each month until the balance is satisfied. The Company also seeks leave to
terminate the respondents’ service if they fail to abide by the terms of the payment agreement.

Therefore, based upon the foregoing information, and for good cause appearing,
the Commission orders as follows:

1. The respondents shall pay to the Company a down payment of $62.00 with the

minimum of $60.00 a month plus current bill for a period of eleven months until the arrearage is

satisfied;
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2. The Company shall waive interest owing on the arrearage so long as the
respondents abide by the terms of this Report and Order.

3. If the respondents fail to comply with the terms of the payment plan and this
Report and Order, the Company shall have the right to disconnect services to respondents’
residence in accordance with the Company regulations and tariff provisions and the applicable
rules and regulations of the Commission. It shall not be required to seek further approval from
the Commission for termination of service, notwithstanding the fact that a resident at
respondents’ residence may be using life-support equipment. In the event of termination, at least
48 hours prior to terminating said service, the Company shall notify the appropriate Utah state
social service agencies of this Order and pending termination. The Company shall be free to
pursue any other means of collection available to it under the law to collect any arrearages.

DATED at Salt Lake City, Utah, this 5" day of November, 2009.

/s/ Ruben H. Arredondo
Administrative Law Judge

Approved and confirmed this 5™ day of November, 2009, as the Report and Order
of the Public Service Commission of Utah.

/s/ Ted Boyer, Chairman

/s/ Ric Campbell, Commissioner

/s/ Ron Allen, Commissioner

Attest:

[s/ Julie Orchard
Commission Secretary
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